The Faculty of Law was established in 1960, initially as the Law Department at the Faculty of Law and Economics in Niš operating under the auspices of the University of Belgrade. Since 1st October 1970, the Faculty of Law has been an independent institution of higher education within the institutional framework of the University of Niš. The instruction at the first undergraduate course of studies started on October 1st, 1960. There were 503 law students enrolled in the first academic year 1960/61. At the time, the Faculty had only four professors and two teaching assistants employed on a full-time basis.

In the periods from 1960 to 1965 and 1978 to 1986, the Law Faculty organized instruction at two levels: a two-year undergraduate course of study (aimed at obtaining the undergraduate degree of a Legal Assistant) and a four-year undergraduate course of study for obtaining an LLB degree. Until 1992, the Law Faculty organized separate instruction courses for full-time and part-time students. Due to a great interest in part-time studies, in the period from 1964 to 1977 the Law Faculty organized a number of local centers for part-time studies outside its seat of residence. In 1977, the Faculty established its permanent center in Zaječar, which was fully operational until 1988. Over the past 48 years, the Law Faculty has permanently developed and updated its study programs by introducing new curricula and syllabi (in 1960, 1974, 2003, and 2007).

From 1960 to 1965, the Law Faculty was eligible to organize three study modules (concentrations): Jurisprudence, Trade Law and Economy, and Politics and Administration, but the instruction was organized only in the Jurisprudence module. In the period from 1974 to 1979, the curriculum envisaged a number of elective courses aimed at providing for some specialization in particular areas of law. From 1974 to 2003, the Faculty provided legal education for prospective legal professionals of a general profile. The Undergraduate Curriculum of 2003 envisaged 8 elective study groups in the third year of study, offering students the opportunity to tailor their legal education by opting for a study group of their choice.

Since 1970, the Law Faculty has been organizing post-graduate courses of study, including one-year Specialist's degree program and two-year Master's degree program. Under the 2003 Curriculum, the Master's degree studies include 18 concentrations whereas the Specialist's degree studies include 10 concentrations.

Over the past 50 years, a total number of 5,458 law students have obtained their LLB degree and 5,711 students have obtained the professional title of a Legal Assistant. In the graduate course of study, 55 students have obtained their LLB Specialist degree and 111 students have been awarded the LLM degree in subject-specific areas of law. In the post-graduate studies, the LLD degree has been acquired by a total number of 47 post-graduate students.

Deans of the Faculty of Law in Niš